View Full Version : anyone use wanadoo.fr ?
garv
6th January 2006, 06:26 PM
we've been getting attacked on here by the site and IP address of
http://www.wanadoo.fr
if anyone knows anything about this can you let me know.
regards
garv
Spooksta
6th January 2006, 06:29 PM
what is wanadoo?
Nside
6th January 2006, 06:40 PM
some french site... looks like a wanna-be yahoo or something
garv
6th January 2006, 07:41 PM
yeah it maybe spidering the site
Montolio
6th January 2006, 08:46 PM
never seen this site before
garv
6th January 2006, 09:25 PM
i think it's in the top 300 sites on the web.
the spider has been banned till we can get better server setup to handle it.
Doobie
7th January 2006, 10:14 AM
Is this why the sites been down so long today? Or is that from retooling the servers?
EDIT: Nevermind, just read this. http://forum.dumpstersluts.com/showthread.php?p=131881#post131881
inDcent
7th January 2006, 10:52 AM
yeah i was freakin a bit too... but glad shes up and runnin
Snook
7th January 2006, 11:35 AM
Wanadoo is a Yahoo or Google Wanabee... but also is a BIG Internet Service Provider for the French Market. Some areas of France have no Choice but to Connect to Internet via Them if they want Hi-Speed. Having said that, I'm sure a lot of French Members (having Wanadoo.fr as ISP) hotlink content from Here....
Doobie
7th January 2006, 11:41 AM
Ok, I know nothing about attacking servers/sites. Could someone please explain it to me? Is it merely a large number of like hits from a certain IP, or what? Not that I plan to make an assault on anyone, I'm just curious.
semo
7th January 2006, 12:23 PM
Wanadoo is a Yahoo or Google Wanabee... but also is a BIG Internet Service Provider for the French Market. Some areas of France have no Choice but to Connect to Internet via Them if they want Hi-Speed. Having said that, I'm sure a lot of French Members (having Wanadoo.fr as ISP) hotlink content from Here....
Wanadoo is my ISP but I don't think it was an attack from them but an attack from someone using wanadoo. Wanadoo is a serious company. If they have trouble with DS, I think you would have received a mail from one of their lawyers. I remember, some month ago, wanadoo.fr was black-listed by some american ISP, but I don't remember why. I had to use proxy to access a lot web sites.
garv
7th January 2006, 02:23 PM
we've got a pretty good .htacess system that will stop hotlinking. it's their actual Search engine spiders that are causing the problems :(
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.